Fantasy, Fairytales, and History Collide in Blood Rose Rebellion

This book is PHENOMENAL. It blends history, fantasy, and Hungarian fairytales and folklore in the most captivating of ways. The characters are wonderful, the plot is gripping, and the world is BEAUTIFUL. I was so looking forward to reading this book, and Rosalyn by far exceeded any expectations I had going in. If you like … Continue reading Fantasy, Fairytales, and History Collide in Blood Rose Rebellion

Sister Warriors, Get Ready for The Hundredth Queen!

You know that wonderful moment when you get to read that book that you've been DYING to read, and it's even BETTER than you expected?! Well, that was The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King for me! This book is PERFECT for fans of The Girl of Fire and Thorns, The Wrath and the Dawn, and Graceling. Wine Pairing  The Hundredth Queen by Emily … Continue reading Sister Warriors, Get Ready for The Hundredth Queen!

Highlights From the Salt Lake Newbery Award Party

I had the incredible honor of attending tonight's Newbery Award Party in Salt Lake City. We got to hear from a panel of industry professionals, including local author Ally Condie, associate professor in education psychology at the University of Utah Lauren Liang, and director of the Provo City Library Gene Nelson. We got to learn all … Continue reading Highlights From the Salt Lake Newbery Award Party