The Duke of Bannerman Prep – Party Wines During Prohibition and Now

Blog Tour Graphic

I’ve been so excited about The Duke of Bannerman Prep ever since I learned that this is a YA retelling of The Great Gatsby, and I was certainly not disappointed. This book stayed true to many of the themes from the original work, but is very much its own, captivating story. Be sure to check out this post over on Girl in the Pages to see some fantastic comparisons between the two.

Many of the Gatsby characters have been brilliantly reimagined in this story, yet at the same time, they’re much more likable in spite of their flaws. And the Duke is every bit as enigmatic and fascinating as Jay Gatsby himself.

This book is perfect for fans of The Great Gatsby ands fans of YA contemporary novels alike.

Blurb.jpg.jpg-large


Party Wines During Prohibition and Now

we-want-wine

Interestingly enough, wine was not quite as difficult to obtain during Prohibition as many other kinds of liquor. This was due to the The Volstead Act and the fact that while drinking wine recreationally was illegal, sacramental wine was not. I doubt it’s any coincidence though that the demand for sacramental wine during the Roaring Twenties went up by 800,000 GALLONS over the course of two years! So if you found yourself sipping on a glass of wine at a party during the Prohibition Era, it was most likely either sacramental wine or illegal home-made wine.

kosher-wine1

Today, the problem is not obtaining wine for a party, so much as which wines you should choose for your soirée. I recommend having a few popular varietals on hand like this Francis Coppola Merlot, this Sonoma-Cutrer Chardonnay, or this Barefoot Bubbly Pinot Grigio.

 *All wine recommendations are strictly for those of legal drinking age only.*


Wine Paring

Since this is a Gatsby retelling, I could not resist pairing The Duke of Bannerman Prep with this Prohibition Zinfandel. This wine happens to be made in California, where the story takes place, and the bold flavor of the wine very much reminded me of The Duke’s bold character.

 *All wine recommendations are strictly for those of legal drinking age only.*


About the Book

Nelson - TDoBP cover

By Katie Nelson

Publisher: Sky Pony Press

Published: May 9th 2017

Goodreads

Words are weapons. Facts can be manipulated. And nothing is absolute—especially right and wrong.

Tanner McKay is at Bannerman Prep for one reason: to win. The elite school recruited him after he argued his public school’s debate team to victory last year, and now Bannerman wants that championship trophy. Debate is Tanner’s life—his ticket out of scrimping and saving and family drama, straight to a scholarship to Stanford and a new, better future. When he’s paired with the prep school playboy everyone calls the Duke, Tanner’s straightforward plans seem as if they’re going off the rails. The Duke is Bannerman royalty, beloved for his laissez-faire attitude, crazy parties, and the strings he so easily pulls. And a total no-show when it comes to putting in the work to win.

As Tanner gets sucked into the Duke’s flashy world, the thrill of the high life and the adrenaline of the edge become addictive. A small favor here and there seems like nothing in exchange for getting everything he ever dreamed of.

But the Duke’s castle is built on shady, shaky secrets, and the walls are about to topple.

A contemporary retelling of The Great Gatsby, Katie A. Nelson’s taut debut is perfect for anyone who’s struggled to survive the cut-throat world of competitive high school.

Pre-Order/Buy Links:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

Blurb 2


Pre-order Incentive

Preorder Info

Email proof of purchase and your address to katie@katienelson.com by May 8th to receive a signed bookplate and bookmark.


Enter the Giveaway!

 (1) Signed finished copy of The Duke of Bannerman Prep and Gatsby related swag. U.S. Only. Ends May 8th 11:59pm.


images


About Katie A. Nelson

KatieShoot-1

Katie Nelson has always loved words and stories. Formerly a high school English and Debate teacher, she now lives in Northern California with her husband, four children, and hyperactive dog.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


Attend the Book Launch

If you’re in the Modesto, California area, be sure to attend what is sure to be a great launch party! They’ll even have treats!!!

Launch Info.jpg.jpg-large


Follow the Blog Tour

Blog Tour Participants

Thanks to the ladies over at Tales of the Ravenous Reader for putting this phenomenal book tour together. Be sure to check out the rest of the tour for some really fun posts!

May 2nd

The YA Book Traveler – Snacks to Pair with The Duke of Bannerman Prep

Girl in the Pages – Gatsby vs The Duke: Themes the Books Share

May 3rd

YA and Wine – Wines During Prohibition & Now

Take Me Away to a Great Read – Bookish Gatsby Merch to Add to Your Collection

May 4th

Mama Reads Blog – Bannerman Prep Party Playlist

Tales of the Ravenous Reader – 5 Reasons You’ll Love The Duke

May 5th

YAWednesdays – Modern Day Gatsby Apparel

Books, Boys, and Blogs – Best of: Quotes from Duke & Things Every Gatsby Lover Should Have

May 8th

NovelNovice – Fun Facts About Gatsby to Know Before Reading The Duke of Bannerman Prep

BookCrushin – eBooks versus Paper – The Great Debate in Honor of The Duke of Bannerman Prep

12 Comments Add yours

  1. I feel so silly saying this but I don’t know any of the characters……:( Maybe I need to get around to reading it! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No need to feel silly! This book is totally entertaining even if you haven’t read Gatsby. 🙂

      Like

  2. I haven’t heard of this book before, but it sounds awesome! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by! It’s such a great book!

      Like

  3. ignitedmoth says:

    Nice post (and pairing)! You always find the most appropriate and interesting wines to match your books. 😀
    It was very interesting reading the extra info you provided about sacramental wine during the prohibition, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! The wine pairings are always fun. 🙂 I actually learned all of that researching this post, so I had a lot of fun learning about it. So glad you found it interesting!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. HAHAHAHA. So informative, but also so ironic. If it was still prohibition, there wouldn’t have been any YA and Wine and that would just be horrendous. :O But seriously, it’s so weird to think about that era. o.o But I can’t wait to read this! They so sold on a modern retelling for Gatsby. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! Thank goodness they haven’t tried to do that again! That would be a tragedy! I do love all books and movies set in that era, just wouldn’t want to actually live in it. And yes, I was sold as soon as I heard Gatsby retelling. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It would. o.o Poor wine. It was so unloved for a while. But I do agree. It is such a cool era. Have you heard of a new book coming out called Speak Easy, Speak Love?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have not heard of this book but am looking up IMMEDIATELY! Thanks for that! 😘

        Like

  5. Modern retellings can either be such hits or such disappointments – I sure hope this one is the former!
    Also, that history fact was really interesting! Again, your wine knowledge amazes me, Krysti 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. For me, this one is a hit. It has a lot of different elements that I just loved. I totally learned about wine during prohibition in preparation for this post to be honest, but I did find it so interesting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s