The Game of Lives Paperback Review and Giveaway!

THE GAME OF LIVES.jpg

The Game of Lives is officially out in paperback! So if you haven’t yet picked up Dashner’s cyber-adventure trilogy, now is definitely the time to start!


Wine Pairing

I paired The Game of Lives with this Morse Code Chardonnay, since code, tech, and hacking are essential to the plot. The flavor profile in this wine is nearly as complex as the world of the Mortality Doctrine series in which the character’s struggle to decipher what’s real and what’s virtual.

 *All wine recommendations are strictly for those of legal drinking age only.*


About the Book

GOL Pbk Cover

 

Title: THE GAME OF LIVES

Author: James Dashner

Pub. Date: May 2, 2017

Publisher: Ember

Pages: 384

Formats: Paperback

Find it: AmazonBarnes & Noble, TBD, Goodreads

 

From James Dashner, author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, comes the final book in the Mortality Doctrine series, an edge-of-your-seat cyber-adventure trilogy that includes The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts

Includes a sneak peek of The Fever Code, the highly anticipated conclusion to the Maze Runner series–the novel that finally reveals how the Maze was built! 

Michael used to live to game, but now, the games are over. The VirtNet has become a world of deadly consequences, and cyber terrorist Kaine grows stronger by the day. The Mortality Doctrine–Kaine’s master plan–has nearly been realized, and little by little the line separating the virtual from the real is blurring. If Kaine succeeds, it will mean worldwide cyber domination. And it looks like Michael and his friends are the only ones who can put the monster back in the box–if Michael can figure out who his friends really are.

The author who brought you the #1 New York Times bestselling MAZE RUNNER series and two #1 movies–The Maze Runner and Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials–now brings you an electrifying adventure trilogy that takes you into a world of hyperadvanced technology, cyber terrorists, and gaming beyond your wildest dreams . . . and your worst nightmares.

Praise for the Mortality Doctrine Series: 
-Dashner takes full advantage of the Matrix-esque potential for asking ‘what is real.’- –io9.com

-Set in a world taken over by virtual reality gaming, the series perfectly capture[s] Dashner’s hallmarks for inventiveness, teen dialogue and an ability to add twists and turns like no other author.- –MTV.com
-A brilliant, visceral, gamified mash-up of The Matrix and Inception, guaranteed to thrill even the non-gaming crowd.- —Christian Science Monitor


My Review

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

five-stars

This book is just plain cool. In the thrilling conclusion to his Mortality Doctrine series, Dashner has brilliantly imagined a world in which virtual reality has been taken to terrifying new levels where the lines between what is real and what is virtual blur dangerously.

There are so many twists and turns in this inventive plot, I never knew what to expect. Between trying to decipher what was real from what wasn’t, deciding which characters could be trusted and which ones couldn’t, and the intense and imaginative actions scenes, I was constantly on the edge of my seat.

Something Dashner does incredibly well in all of his book is writing teen dialogue. His word choices have such an authentic quality to them that really builds this great camaraderie between some of his characters and keeps the tension at a boiling point between others, and really brings these characters to life.

I loved how so many action scenes in this book take place in a virtual setting. Not only is it really creative and fun to read, but it also delivered an action-packed story where brains could very believably, and without any super powers, defeat braun. I loved that!

This book is, of course, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner series. I also feel like this is an ideal book for gamers as well as fans of YA sci-fi or dystopian novels in general.


About James

james-dashner-photo-credit-mary-wood.jpg

James Dashner was born and raised in Georgia but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. He is the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series: The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure, and The Kill Order. His newest series is The Mortality Doctrine: The Eye of Minds, The Rule of Thoughts, and The Game of Lives.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram


Enter the Giveaway

5 winners will receive paperback sets of the whole series (EYE OF MINDS/RULE OF THOUGHTS/GAME OF LIVES), US Only.

images


Follow the Blog Tour

Thanks so much to Rock Star Book Tours for hosting! Be sure to check out them out here!

Week One:

5/1/2017- jrsbookreviews– Review

5/2/2017- She Dreams in Fiction– Spotlight

5/3/2017- Margie’s Must Reads– Excerpt

5/4/2017- YA and Wine– Review

5/5/2017- The Pages In-Between – Review

Week Two:

5/8/2017- The Not So Public Library– Excerpt

5/9/2017- Book Stacks Amber Review

5/10/2017- Books,Dreams,Life– Excerpt

5/11/2017- Literary musings– Spotlight

5/12/2017- YA Book Madness– Review

25 thoughts on “The Game of Lives Paperback Review and Giveaway!

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    I haven’t read his Mortality Doctrine series, but I’ve been meaning to!
    Oh, I keep forgetting to share the pic of the winner of our classroom drawing of Saturdays at Sea!!
    Love these giveaways and love his dancing skills! 😂

  2. Tabby says:

    I loved this series! I’d definitely read it again! I remember this book frustrated me at certain times because of what happens to a certain character (I think you know who). I’d definitely recommend this series!!

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      I TOTALLY know who you’re talking about. The first time I read it I was so upset! I had a similar moment with The Maze Runner series, but I actually hate books that have these epic battles and none of the characters you care about die. It feels so unrealistic to me. So it’s like I hate it and love it at the same time. LOL.

      • Tabby says:

        Yeah, that’s a good point. Then there’s really no emotional attachment to the book. But my gosh I was so upset when that character died that I nearly just stopped reading the book! At least I my guess about the ending was right 🙂

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        Yeah, it was one of those moments where you just can’t quite believe it, and then you don’t want to believe it. But I love books that actually make me feel something when a character dies. You figured out the end?! I totally didn’t see it coming!

      • Tabby says:

        Kind of, I mean, I was pretty positive that I’d be wrong, but it was holding onto the hope that kept me reading on 🙂

Leave a Reply