Waiting on Wednesday: Speak Easy, Speak Love

So, funny story about this lovely book. My friend Mandy over at Book Princess Reviews recommended this to me, saying it was exactly the type of book that I would love (girl knows me well!). I read the description and IMMEDIATELY added it to my TBR list.

A couple weeks later, I went to an author event with Kate Watson, author of Seeking Mansfield, and who should be moderating that event but McKelle George, author of Speak Easy, Speak Love!

As if that hadn’t been serendipitous enough, she had emailed me earlier that day about our YA and Wine book club, because she is a local, and we just ended up connecting all the dots when we finally talked face-to-face that night!

So basically, it seems that all the stars have aligned to tell me that I am destined to fall in love with this book! I could not be more excited to get my hands on it! Not only does this book sound fascinating, but you guys, CHECK OUT THAT COVER!

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. Be sure to check out their blog and share the upcoming books your excited about with us each Wednesday!


Wine Pairing

Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George


 I’ll be pairing this beautiful, BEAUTIFUL book with this The Speakeasy Club Cabernet Sauvignon. Both this book and this wine overflow with that alluring 1920s vibe that I just cannot get enough of. This wine is described as having “rich, fruity, vibrant characters,” and based on the description, that is exactly what I am expecting from this book!

 *All wine recommendations are strictly for those of legal drinking age only.*


Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George

30640834Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer. Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

unknown


About McKelle

From McKelle’s Website

6554859.jpgThe only thing worse than not having many publications or accolades to tout in a biography is having to talk about “the author’s” two cats in third person. (I don’t have any cats.) So a little about me and my writing: I got my A.A. in Art on a scholarship and then took an 18 months hiatus for volunteer church service in Hungary. Among other ways it changed my life, I came home with a desire not to waste time doing what I didn’t absolutely love, so I switched my major to English (I still liked drawing cartoons, but I wanted to be a writer, actual talent be damned) and now have a B.S. in English/Creative Writing from Brigham Young University. I’ve had articles published with The Friend magazine and Fight the New Drug. I live in downtown Salt Lake City with an enormous white German Shepherd. I believe most people are ultimately good, I think a good book can change a life, and I believe in ghosts, naps, and proper grammar in texts. I love cold weather, and I could never be a vegetarian.  Among other jobs, I work at a library and as a tutor. I work at Salt Lake City Public Library (the greatest library in the world!), and am also a mentor to teens with Salt Lake Teens Write. People are usually extremely patient or annoyed with me as I try to remember which thing I’m supposed to be concentrating on in the current moment.


How COOL does this book sound? Have you ever unexpectedly met an author before? What books are you guys waiting on this Wednesday?

15 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Speak Easy, Speak Love

  1. LairOfBooks says:

    OMYGOSH Kyrsti! I’m so glad you posted this one for WOW this week, I haven’t seen others speak (haha!) about this one but it’s been on my radar for about 2 mths now. I LOVE everything about the 1920’s! & seeing this one pop up on Edelweiss felt like fate lol. The cover is just GORGE! <3

  2. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Much Ado About Nothing is one of my FAVORITE Shakespeare plays!!! I’ve seen this around, but I didn’t realize it was a retelling. I must check it out. Thanks for the heads up!
    Now– when a local author contacts you about the book club, what are they looking for? Do you get to do author events with the book club?!

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      There are so many things about this book that just sound like perfection. Between the 1920s, the Speak Easy, and the Much Ado About Nothing retelling, I am just so excited! So McKelle contacted me and didn’t tell me she was an author at all. She just wanted to drink wine and talk about books, but we’ve found each other out now. LOL. We are having Emily R. King at our meeting this month though specifically to talk about her book, do a Q&A, and sign copies for anyone who can’t make it to her launch this week. I’m REALLY excited about that!

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        She is a really neat person. The only reason I have gotten to know our local authors is because of The King’s English Bookshop and them letting me host a book club there. They create a book community for us here, which is amazing.

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      It does sound like a lot of fun! I haven’t read this one yet. It comes out in the fall, so I haven’t tried it with the wine just yet, but I’m REALLY looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply