Review: LITTLE MONSTERS by Kara Thomas

I am so thrilled that I have gotten the opportunity to participate on the street team for Little Monsters by Kara Thomas! This book truly is the perfect fix for fans going through withdrawals after the conclusion of Pretty Little Liars. I had so much fun reading it and can’t wait for it to hit bookshelves next week!


Wine Pairing

I paired Little Monsters with this Urban Legand Rosato di Barbera. While this book is not a fantasy/paranormal story, it includes an urban legend that absolutely gave me the willies and added an extra layer of mystery and intrigue to the story.

*All wine recommendations are for strictly for those of legal drinking age only.*


About Little Monsters

32320750Little Monsters

by Kara Thomas

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Release Date: July 25, 2017

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriler

 

 

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

unknown


My Review

four-stars

LITTLE MONSTERS is a riveting new YA thriller full of mystery, manipulation, and unexpected twists. I was absolutely enthralled by this story. It kept me up late reading, and then it kept me up late, because I was just too creeped out to sleep!

With a cast brimming with unreliable characters, including the narrator, I can certainly see where the PRETTY LITTLE LIARS comparison comes into play, though I do feel that Kacey was a much more likable protagonist than those characters. She has such genuine love and concern for her family, which made her relatable and likable despite the darkness she keeps hidden inside.

I loved all the red herrings scattered throughout this story. They certainly kept me guessing right up until the very end. I also really enjoyed the fact that while this is certainly not a paranormal or fantasy story, Broken Fall’s local urban legend does play a prominent and super creepy role in the story.

I had so much fun reading this book and definitely feel like it will be a hit amongst both YA and adult readers of the mystery/thriller genre.


Little Monsters Aesthetic

Here are some of my favorite images I pinned while reading this book!

Follow YA and Wine on Pinterest!


Bookstagram

Screen Shot 2017-07-15 at 10.58.02 AM

Follow YA and Wine on Bookstagram!


About the Author

From Kara Thomas’s Website

i-9mcw7jt-xl

Kara is the author of the critically acclaimed THE DARKEST CORNERS. Her new book, LITTLE MONSTERS, is coming July 25th from Random House/Delacorte. She’s written for everything from her high school newspaper to Warner Brothers Television. You can find her on Long Island, bingeing on true crime podcasts and TV shows.


Will you be reading Little Monsters when it comes out next Tuesday? What is your favorite YA mystery/thriller?


Follow me online for more YA and Wine!  goodreads_icon_1000x1000-aed808dec2093e20867b35cd56d9862d.png Twitterinstagram-logo16645001740_27a0ac1a57_b.jpgFacebook.pngBloglovin.png

51 thoughts on “Review: LITTLE MONSTERS by Kara Thomas

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      Awesome! This one is definitely a book for you, Chelsea! I can’t wait to see what you think of it.

  1. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Great review! You know, I never considered that there might be YA thrillers… I avoid thrillers because they often give me nightmares. But, perhaps a YA or MG thriller might be appropriate for me? It’s the psychological aspect which always gets me. I haven’t read Pretty Little Liars either. Do you think I might be able to try these books?

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      This one TOTALLY creeped me out. I do love creepy things though, so I really enjoyed it. There are actually a ton of YA thrillers out there anymore. I haven’t read Pretty Little Liars. I watched the show, and it was alright. I haven’t heard great reviews on the books though.

  2. LairOfBooks says:

    Great review Krysti! LOVING the images you pinned while reading this one, def gives a sense of what to expect in Broken Falls. I love books set in little towns steeped in urban legends, gahhh! atmospheric reads are THE BEST! (in my opinion anyways lol). Def look forward to reading this one 😉

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      Thank so much, Lilly! I love pinning images while I read books. It’s like a new hobby for me. I totally agree about how the small towns and urban legends create amazing atmospheric reads! I really enjoyed this one!

      • LairOfBooks says:

        I pin images as well in private boards cuz I’m scared of what people may think 😂😂😂 I’ve used some in reviews in the past, def gotta get back in the habit 😉 I’m actually reading The Disappearances next which gives me similar small town mysterious vibes 🙃I know you read it & loved it, I was approved for a copy on Edelweiss super late so I fell behind 🤷🏻‍♀️lol

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        I LOVE pinning images while I read. It’s a lot of fun when you can find the ones that match what you envision while you read. 🙂 Ooh, you’ll have to let me know what you think of The Disappearances! We all get behind on reviews sometimes. No worries. 🙂

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        Sounds like a deal! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts. It really is. It’s so hard to keep up on the blog posts/reading/SM/read and support other blogs all the time. Especially when we do this for fun and it’s totally unpaid. LOL. But I do LOVE every second of it…even the stressful ones.

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      This is the first of hers that I’ve read, but now I’ll definitely be going back to read more! I hope you enjoy this one as much as I did. Thank you! 🙂

  3. Mia (@pensnparchment) says:

    I *may* have an ARC of this sitting on my shelf that I got last November… that I still haven’t read 🙈 Your review really makes me want to pick it up though, along with all the recent praise I’ve been hearing. Hopefully I can get to it before the release date!

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      Oh, you should totally pick it up before it releases! It’s so much fun! And super creepy! I really enjoyed it!

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      Mmmcmmm. Unreliable everyone really! I was so into it. Just don’t read it right before bed! Totally creeped me out. LOL.

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        It’s really creepy. LOL. I’m about to start The Special Ones as soon as I hop offline here, and the cover is terrifying. I may not sleep tonight either. LOL.

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        Well, I had some fluff and fantasy in between, so it all good. 🙂 Right now it’s creepy but not TOO intense yet. I think things are about to heat up though!

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        It’s so true! I feel like a lot of creepies have come out recently that I’ve read because of ARC copies, and it’s been SO fun, but I also keep think that I wish I could be reading it in October instead.

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        It’s true, but it seems like I’m reading most of the ones I had on my list this month and in August. LOL. Whoops!

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      Oh, thank you! They are definitely what I pictured while I was reading this book. I love Pinterest and reading. 🙂

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      Thanks so much! I’m seeing a lot of good reviews on this one, which comes as no surprise after reading it. I hope you enjoy it too!

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      Thank you so much! I just read that post and commented on it! I’m so honored that you featured my blog, and I absolutely loved that post! There are so many different ways to do reviews, and I think the format is definitely the hardest thing to figure out. I know that I’m constantly trying to figure out ways to improve my own. Anyway, thanks so much again! <3<3<3

      • namitha says:

        😃😃😃 ur welcome!!! But seriously don’t thank me, I really felt the need to feature your blog as your format is really unique and nothing like I’ve seen before! I just had to include it in my post 😊
        I’m so glad you liked my post! 😊 hopefully you got something out of it… 😊

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        Well, I do appreciate you doing that! That really means a lot to me! 🙂 It was a great post! 🙂

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        It really is. I think it’s probably one of those things that I’ll constantly be changing as I go along. 🙂

Leave a Reply