BookTube Interview with Aditi Khorana and Penguin Teen Tour Event Recap!

I had the tremendous honor of getting to sit down with Aditi Khorana to discuss her beautiful new novel The Library of Fates while she was in Salt Lake City for the Penguin Teen Tour.  Aditi is such a brilliant woman and talented writer and listening to what she had to say gave me such a deeper understanding of this phenomenal novel!

Aditi and I were sipping on a Pinot Noir, which I paired with The Library of Fates, because the bold flavor went so well with Amrita’s incredible character, and the flavor of this wine lingers after each delicious sip just as this story is sure to stay with readers long after they read the last page.

Also, I started a BookTube channel! Yay! So if you enjoyed watching this interview and want to see more, make sure to subscribe! And you can check out my full review of The Library of Fates on Goodreads here!


The Penguin Teen Summer Tour

It is always so much fun when the Penguin Teen Tour comes to town! Penguin does a phenomenal job putting together groups of authors whose books and personalities both gel so well together and make for the most entertaining book events to attend!


Here’s a few fun tidbits these wonderful authors shared during the event!

All of these author’s have books with tremendous and complex worlds. They each have their own way of keeping track of all the little details. Romina Russell, fittingly, calls her tracking system the “galaxy guidebook” while Morgan Rhodes calls hers “the book bible.”


The authors also chatted about horror novels and movies. Apparently, Danielle Vega, author of the fun and terrifying The Merciless series, was read Stephen King stories to at bedtime. Romina was terrified by The Exorcist and Poltergeist, and Aditi Khorana watched Alfred Hitchcock movies to help her learn English when she was young.


There was also some wonderful wisdom about books and writing shared throughout the evening. Aditi discussed the importance of books being both a window and a mirror, and Morgan talked about pushing through writer’s block by focusing on not writing for herself but on writing for the characters who deserve to have their stories told.

A couple of the books from this tour include love triangles in some form or another, so I had to ask the authors how they feel about love triangles, since they do get a lot of heat from readers these days. It seemed to be the general consensus that they were pro-love triangle as long as it was character driven and not just being used as a device to create tension in the plot, which I personally could not agree with more.

It was a phenomenal night. The YA and Wine bookclub had such a great time hanging out with these tremendous authors, and we hope to see the Penguin Teen Tour here in Salt Lake City again soon!


About Library of Fates

32766747Title: Library of Fates

Author: Aditi Khorana

Release Date: July 18, 2017

Pages: 354

Publisher: Razorbill

A romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn’t enough.

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos of a palace under siege. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on each other. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life—and another love—await?

unknown


Have you read Library of Fates? What about the books by these other incredible authors? Who is your favorite author you’ve met in person?


Follow me online for more YA and Wine!  goodreads_icon_1000x1000-aed808dec2093e20867b35cd56d9862d.png Twitterinstagram-logo16645001740_27a0ac1a57_b.jpgFacebook.pngBloglovin.png

21 thoughts on “BookTube Interview with Aditi Khorana and Penguin Teen Tour Event Recap!

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      Thank you! I do feel incredibly lucky to get to have met Aditi and all of these authors. The King’s English Bookshop is phenomenal. They’ve literally changed my whole life. I would never have started blogging without them.

  1. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    This was a lovely video!! I really liked the sound of this! I love the idea of a fictionalised ancient India- it sounds so unique! You conducted a fantastic interview!! 😀 Your questions were really great!! 😀

  2. bookprincessreviews says:

    Omigosh, SO much fun, Krysti!! Loved this and your interview was so much. It was so much fun to see the wine drinking in progress. And you said Booktube was going to be a thing all those months ago. 😉 I’m so excited to see yet another chapter to YA and Wine! <3 And as always, wonderful job, lady! <3

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      Thanks, Mandy!!! I was so, so nervous to post this. And yes! Wine drinking in progress. LOL. That definitely helped with the nerves. 🙂 We’ll see how this YA and Wine chapter goes! If nothing else, it’s so amazing to get the opportunity to chat with these authors. Thanks so much, lady!!! <3<3<3

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        Especially when it’s you talking on camera. So scary. LOL. But she was also a lovely, kind person as well, so that also helped a ton! And seriously, that blog niche comes in clutch sometimes. 😉

      • bookprincessreviews says:

        YES. With an interview, too, it’s not like you can go back and rewind and fix it up. But yes, that makes it so much easier and nicer for you. And ahahaha I can imagine it doessssss. XD

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        Well…thankfully you can edit the video in iMovie. LOL. The hubz does all the video editing too, so I don’t have to do that part. It actually makes those posts easier and less time consuming for me than any of the others. LOL. I may start posting more videos. We’ll see…

      • KrystiYAandWine says:

        Seriously. I am sure I could manage to embarrass myself spectacularly without that! Hahaha! XD

  3. ignitedmoth says:

    Loved the video interview! 🙂 This was a really great post all around. I can’t imagine how exciting it must be to meet all the wonderful authors that you do. Thanks for always sharing the fun with the rest of us. 😀

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      Thanks so much! Aditi is such a lovely person. It really was amazing to get to see her. Thanks for watching! <3<3<3

Leave a Reply