THE GREAT SHELBY HOMES MEETS HER MATCH Review and Mood Board

The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match is absolutely adorable, so much fun, and full of fantastic Sherlockian references.


About the Book

33590823Title: The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match

Author: Elizabeth Eulberg

Pub. Date: September 12, 2017

Publisher: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children’s Books

Pages: 256

The Great Shelby Holmes may have finally met her match in this humorous sequel to Elizabeth Eulberg’s fresh twist on Sherlock Holmes.

Being friends with a super sleuth isn’t easy, especially when she’s nine years old and four feet tall, and full of attitude. But for eleven-year-old aspiring writer John Watson, being friends with Shelby Holmes is just the adventure he’s looking for.
In the few weeks since moving to Harlem with his mom, Shelby has been training John in the art of observation—a skill that comes in handy on the first day of school. John’s new teacher, Mr. Crosby, is acting suspiciously, and Shelby knows this is a mystery worth investigating. But as Shelby and John dig deeper, they discover that there may be someone unexpected involved—someone who may have Shelby beat.
From internationally bestselling author Elizabeth Eulberg comes a feel-good sequel for fans of Kate Messner and Chris Grabenstein.

unknown


 My Review

four-stars

The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match is absolutely adorable, so much fun, and full of fantastic Sherlockian references.

The story itself was fast paced and highly entertaining. I loved reading through Watson’s perspective and watching Shelby put her deductive reasoning skills to work.

The characters are charming. Both Watson and Shelby are such a great adaptations of the classic Holmes and Watson characters. They have a lot of the same characteristics and quirks, but Eulberg has definitely put her own spin on them to make them relatable and enjoyable for a modern MG audience.

The dialogue throughout the story is cute and witty and everything I’d hope for from a middle grade novel.

One thing I really enjoyed about this book was the way Eulberg really turns the idea of white as the default on its head. The skin color of the white characters in this book is described like we see done in most other books when characters of color are described.

I’m also a huge Sherlock fan, and I really loved all the witty Sherlockian references sprinkled throughout the book. They were fun little Easter Eggs for readers to uncover.

I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it both to MG readers as well as Sherlock Holmes fans of all ages.


Mood Board

Follow YA and Wine on Pinterest!


About the Author

From Elizabeth’s Website

BioPictGood

Elizabeth Eulberg was born and raised in Wisconsin before heading off to college at Syracuse University and making a career in the New York City book biz. Now a full-time writer, she is the author of The Lonely Hearts ClubProm & PrejudiceTake a BowRevenge of the Girl with the Great Personality, Better Off FriendsWe Can Work it Out, and The Great Shelby Holmes. She lives outside of Manhattan with her three guitars, two keyboards, and one drumstick.


What are some of your favorite Sherlock Holmes retellings or adaptations? What are some of your favorite MG novels?


Follow me online for more YA and Wine! Twitterinstagram-logogoodreads_icon_1000x1000-aed808dec2093e20867b35cd56d9862dUnknownFacebookBloglovin16645001740_27a0ac1a57_b

16 thoughts on “THE GREAT SHELBY HOMES MEETS HER MATCH Review and Mood Board

  1. bookprincessreviews says:

    Ahahaha, I was cracking up because I was like, WAIT, where is the wine pairing??? But then I’m like…wait, maybe middle grade Sherlock might not be the best for wine pairing? Loved that mood board, though, and this book sounds like so much fun. Wonderful job, as always, Krysti! <3

  2. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    This is super cute! I have seen sooooo many Sherlock retellings/re-imaginings lately. I love the trend, but I’m getting a bit burned out on it. That said, this one sounds refreshing! First, we totally need more MG-focused retellings. How else will they get interested in the classics?! Secondly– I adore what you’ve pointed out about how skin color is described. That’s a great thing for kids to see more of.

    Did you read the first book in this series, or jump in the middle? If the latter, did that work ala the original Holmes stories?

    Also– bravo on no wine pairing. I see what you did there. 😉

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      I can never get enough Sherlock retellings honestly…as little My as they’re well done. This one being an MG really sets it apart and gives it such a fun tone. And I totally agree that these types of retellings are a great way to get kids interested in classics.

      I’ve only read this book in the series, but they are written to stand well on their own like the originals. They each have their own case.

      And, yeah! My site is meant for adults and to encourage adults to continue to read YA and not feel embarrassed or guilty about that, but I didn’t feel comfortable pairing an MG novel. Even though I interviewed the author, and we had wine while we chatted. LOL.

      • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

        Yay! I’m glad that the series follows suite with the originals where they are all stand alone.

        Hahaha– I love that you had wine while you chatted with the author. That’s totally on point. Did I miss that interview? I must have. O_o I dig your blog mission, too –> I didn’t realize that was your goal! It’s on your About Me, but I never put two and two together. Keep up the great work!

    • KrystiYAandWine says:

      I had so much fun reading MG books the first week of this month. This one was so much fun. If you like Sherlock, I’d definitely recommend it. 🙂 Thanks, Amanda! <3

Leave a Reply