Beasts Made of Night Review + Giveaway!

banner

coverTitle: Beasts Made of Night

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi

Pub. Date: October 31, 2017

Publisher: Razorbill

Pages: 304

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable fantasy adventure that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor. In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts—lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.

Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he’s suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves—and his own life.


Giveaway

Enter for a chance to be one (1) of three (3) winners to receive a hardcover copy of Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi. (ARV: $17.99 each).

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on October 23, 2017 and 12:00 AM on November 13, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about November 15, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

Rafflecopter


About the Author

Author

Tochi Onyebuchi is a Nigerian American writer and a practicing attorney based in New York City. He holds a MFA in screenwriting from Tisch, a Masters degree in global economic law from L’institut d’études politiques, and a JD from Columbia Law School. His writing has appeared in Asimov’s and Ideomancer, among other places. Beasts Made of Night is his debut series. You can follow him @tochitruestory.


My Review

four-stars

With it’s captivating magic system and stunning Nigerian-inspired setting, BEASTS MADE OF NIGHT is original, enchanting, and a truly impressive debut for Tochi Onyebuchi.

I found the premise of this story to be absolutely fascinating. Taj is an aki, a sin eater, whose duty is to cleanse the nobility of his society of their sins. Once the sin is successfully removed, the aki must then slay the sin in the animalistic forms it has take on. Once slain, the sin beasts are magically branded as tattoos on the aki’s sin, a physical manifestation of the guilt that they have taken onto themselves and the burden they are forced to carry.

The world-building is quite stunning. The descriptions are vibrant and engrossing, and we get to see quite a bit of the world itself in the different sections of this story. There are a lot of social issues explored in the story as well, which was relatable and served to further bring this novel to life.

I would certainly describe this novel as a coming-of-age tale. The timeline does seem to move rather quickly. There are three distinct sections of the novel where Taj finds himself in very different situations. While it was fun to have all three in one novel, because we get to see more of the world, it did also make the story feel a bit rushed at times, and I would have liked to have seen each of those timelines fleshed out a little more.

The characters in the story are very well done. Taj himself is gifted, intelligent, and just inherently good. There is also an incredible cast of brilliant and strong female characters, who I absolutely loved reading about.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story. The prose and descriptions are quite lovely, and I can’t wait to see more from Tochi Onyebuchi.



About the Book-16

Thanks so much to Penguin Teen for hosting this blog tour! Be sure to check out all the amazing blog posts along the way!

Week One:

October 23 – The Bookavid – Author Guest Post | On What it Means Writing African Rep in YA

October 24 – Alexa Loves Books – Bookish Style File

October 25 – Boricuan Bookworms – Review & Bookish Aesthetics

October 26 – Afire Pages – Review

October 27 – YA Wednesdays – Book Aesthetic

Week Two:

October 30 – One Way or an Author – Review & Art

October 31 – YA Bibliophile – Author Guest Post | Top 5 Favorite Fantastical Worlds

November 1 – Chasing Faerytales – Author Guest Post | Inspiration behind Beasts Made of Night

November 2 – Icey BooksBeasts Made of Night Quote Candy

November 3 – Across the Words – Author Q&A

Week Three:

November 6 – A Page With a View – Author Guest Post | Images that Inspired Beasts Made of Night

November 7 – The Royal Polar Bear Reads – Review

November 8 – Xpresso Reads – Review

November 9 – YA and Wine – Review

November 10 – Brittany’s Book Rambles – Author Q&A


Follow me online for more YA and Wine!

 Twitterinstagram-logogoodreads_icon_1000x1000-aed808dec2093e20867b35cd56d9862dUnknownFacebookBloglovin16645001740_27a0ac1a57_b

9 thoughts on “Beasts Made of Night Review + Giveaway!

  1. Angela JC says:

    Great review! I’ve been hearing a lot about this book and I’m definitely intrigued! It sounds different from most of what I’ve been seeing on the shelves but exactly like something I’d love to read (:

  2. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Lovely review, Krysti. I personally ADORE reading African-inspired sci-fi and fantasy– so that alone puts Beasts Made of Night</em. on my TBR. I've heard that this novel leaves the reader hanging a bit; it could be part of a series but it could also be standalone. Is this true? If so, what direction do you think this is going?

Leave a Reply