CIRCLE OF SHADOWS IS OUT NOW!!!

cos blog tour banner

Happy Friday, everyone! I haven’t posted in forever, but I loved The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye so much, I just had to participate in the blog tour for her new book Circle of Shadows, which came out this Tuesday! Have you guys started reading it yet? I want to hear all your thoughts in the comments! Check out my five-star review below and stay tuned for a special announcement next week!


About the Book

circleofshadows_jkt_des5-600x879

Circle of Shadows by Evelyn Skye
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Pub. Date: January 22nd, 2018
Sora can move as silently as a ghost and hurl throwing stars with lethal accuracy. Her gemina, Daemon, can win any physical fight blindfolded and with an arm tied behind his back. They are apprentice warriors of the Society of Taigas—marked by the gods to be trained in magic and the fighting arts to protect the kingdom of Kichona.

As their graduation approaches, Sora and Daemon look forward to proving themselves worthy of belonging to the elite group—but in a kingdom free of violence since the Blood Rift Rebellion many years ago, it’s been difficult to make their mark. So when Sora and Daemon encounter a strange camp of mysterious soldiers while on a standard scouting mission, they decide the only thing to do to help their kingdom is to infiltrate the group.Taking this risk will change Sora’s life forever—and lead her on a mission of deception that may fool everyone she’s ever loved.

Love, spies, and adventure abound as Sora and Daemon unravel a complex web of magic and secrets that might tear them—and the entire kingdom—apart.


My Review

five-stars

This book is perfect for fans of The Grisha Trilogy and Strange the Dreamer because not only is it action-packed, with a high-stakes, and phenomenal world building, but it Skye’s writing is also just stunning. It’s gorgeous, and lovely, and wonderfully descriptive. Her writing is like poetry, and I absolutely devoured it.

Skye has created an unforgettable cast of characters that will stay with readers long after the finish reading the final pages. Sora, in particular, was a delight. Her spirit was inspiring and so much fun to read about. I loved her connection with Daemon, and the two of them on the page together was absolute magic.

The magic system is beautifully developed, and the way Skye incorporates it in the story is almost lyrical. The world building was also very well executed. Skye really brought it all to life with her captivating descriptions.

The story itself was very well-plotted, and moved at a quick pace. There weren’t any lulls in the story, and I found myself not wanting to put it down.

I’m so excited to see what happens next in this captivating new series!


About the Author

Evelyn Skye head shot high res.jpg

Evelyn Skye is the author of New York Times bestsellers THE CROWN’S GAME and THE CROWN’S FATE. Her new series, CIRCLE OF SHADOWS, will be published on January 22, 2019.

Evelyn has a B.A. in Russian literature & history from Stanford University and a J.D. from Harvard Law School. She was once offered a job by the C.I.A., she not-so-secretly wishes she was on “So You Think You Can Dance,” and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she guarantees she will win.

Author Links: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Enter the Giveaway

This giveaway is opened internationally! One winner will get a hardcover of the book along with the designed tote bag pictured below!

Rafflecoptercircle of shadows tote.jpg


Follow the Blog Tour

Thanks so much to Brittany at Brittany’s Book Rambles for hosting this incredible tour! Be sure to check out the other stops along the way!

January 21st – Bookish Lifestyle – Top 5 Reasons to Read Circle of Shadows and Tote Design Reveal
January 22nd – The Reader and the Chef –  Places To Visit in Circle of Shadows
January 23rd – The YA Book Traveler – Author Interview
January 24th – Alexa Loves Books – Gift Guide
January 25th – YA and Wine – Review
January 28th – Twirling Pages – Author Interview
January 29th – MTMC Tours – Quotes from Circle of Shadows
January 30th – Paperfury – Feature
January 31st – It Starts at Midnight – Feature
February 1st- The Books Buzz – Transforming into a Taiga

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.